Show Original

Articles About Corporate

IRS Issues Notice on Carried Interests Held by S Corporations

Published: March 21st, 2018

By: Stephen R. Looney

The IRS announced that the Offshore Voluntary Disclosure Program (OVDP) will end on September 28, 2018. OVDP provides a way for taxpayers who have undisclosed foreign income and assets to come into compliance with U.S. Tax and other laws. The OVDP provides taxpayers with a safe harbor from criminal prosecution and streamlines civil penalties provided […]

IRS Issues Notice on Carried Interests Held by S Corporations

Published: March 21st, 2018

By: Stephen R. Looney

Many questions have already arisen with respect to the newly-enacted Tax Cuts and Jobs Act.  As the IRS begins the process of releasing guidance in order to answer these questions, it is important that taxpayers stay current.  Recently, the IRS issued Notice 2018-18[1], its first piece of guidance under the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act.  […]

Steve Looney Speaks on Tax Reform for American Law Institute

Published: March 15th, 2018

By: Stephen R. Looney

Stephen R. Looney participated in a panel webinar presentation entitled, “Choice of Business Entity After Tax Reform: Who Wins and Who Loses,” hosted by the American Law Institute on March 14, 2018 in Philadelphia.  The American Law Institute is the leading independent organization in the United States producing scholarly work to clarify, modernize, and otherwise improve the law. […]

2018 Florida Legislature Enacts Numerous State and Local Tax Changes

The Florida Legislature concluded its 2018 Regular Session on Sunday, March 11, 2018.  Prior to the start of the session, the Legislature filed 3,189 bills for consideration.  At the conclusion of the extended 62 day session, only 200 bills were passed.[1]  While these bills are subject to approval or veto by Governor Scott, we summarize […]

Dean Mead Hosts “Tax Reform Seminar” at Indian River State College on Feb. 22nd

Sweeping Changes You Need to Know About the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act Review Outline here: Tax Symposium in Fort Pierce Thursday, February 22, 2018 Registration opens: 7:45 a.m.      (Light Breakfast for Everyone) Program: 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Location: Indian River State College – Main Campus, V Building Kight Center for Emerging Technologies 3209 […]

Litigation Client Alert – Changes to Florida LLC Law

Published: February 6th, 2018

By: A. Felipe Guerrero

In 2013, the Florida Legislature adopted a new LLC act that created Chapter 605 of the Florida Statutes. The revised law became effective for all Florida limited liability companies on Jan. 1, 2015, regardless of when they were organized. The Florida Legislature adopted amendments to Chapter 605 that became effective on July 1, 2015. Many disputes […]

Standing-Room Only Tax Reform Seminar Series Kicks Off in Orlando

Published: February 5th, 2018

Dean Mead kicked-off the statewide Tax Cuts & Jobs Act seminar series last week at the Country Club of Orlando with nearly 200 people in attendance.  Please refer to the video presentations below to view the two sessions that were held during the seminar. In addition, we have also included copies of the presentation outlines & slides for your review. […]

Steve Looney Q&A and Podcast Featured on the Legal Executive Institute Blog

Published: February 1st, 2018

By: Stephen R. Looney

Stephen R. Looney, Shareholder in Orlando and Chair of the Tax department, recently was interviewed by Thomson Reuters about the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. Read the Q&A and listen to the podcast here at Legal Executive Institute Blog: “I would say certainly for the next several years, while everybody is trying to figure […]

Orlando to Host “Tax Reform” Seminar on Jan. 31: Sweeping Changes You Need to Know

Please join Dean Mead’s Tax and Estate Planning attorneys for a special seminar on Wednesday, January 31st at the Country Club of Orlando. Sweeping Changes You Need to Know About the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act Wednesday, January 31st Registration:  7:45 a.m. Breakfast:  8:00 a.m. Program:   8:15 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Location:  The Country Club […]